Poster called "June 18th": Extremely rare... - Lot 176 - Pousse-Cornet

Lot 176
Go to lot
Estimation :
10000 - 15000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 38 400EUR
Poster called "June 18th": Extremely rare... - Lot 176 - Pousse-Cornet
Poster called "June 18th":
Extremely rare original "A Tous les Français" poster, 1st print: "Printed for General de Gaulle by A.O. Fallek, London. S.E.1", published in London, appeared in The Times on August 5, translated into English, the poster having been posted in London two days earlier.
The text of this poster was also published in the first and only issue of the official bulletin of the Free French Forces on 15 August 1940 with the note: "Text of the poster which was posted on the walls in England". Several typographical errors can be noticed: the "d" of "servitude" is an inverted "p" and slightly shifted upwards, "ce jour-là" and "danger" are without accent, "français" is without cede.
Inverted tricolour frame of the "English" type, blue stripe on the outside.
76 x 51.8 cm.
Good condition (slight wear on 20 cm on the lower right side)

This poster known as the 1st edition poster was printed by Achille Olivier Fallek, a small craftsman printer with only 1000 copies. This copy is in very good state of conservation and shows no folds or traces of glue, it has certainly never been glued on the outside. On the other hand, it presents pin holes at the four corners. It is believed to have been displayed in the headquarters of 4, Carlton gardens....
Three prints of this poster are made in England. The first one was printed, at the end of July 1940, by
Printinghouse A. O. Fallek at 1,000 copies. A second print run of 10,000 copies was made by the J. Weiner Ldt. printing works in November or December 1940, and a third by Harrison & Sons Ldt. The dimensions are quite modest, about 76.5 cm high and 51.5 cm wide. The text is mistakenly surrounded by the English colours: blue on the outside, red on the inside. It contains typographical errors. An English translation is shown at the bottom left because this poster was displayed on the streets of London from July 1940.
In the larger prints produced from autumn 1944 o
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Affiche dite "du 18 Juin": Rarissime affiche... - Lot 176 - Pousse-Cornet

Lot 176
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 15000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 38 400EUR
Affiche dite "du 18 Juin": Rarissime affiche... - Lot 176 - Pousse-Cornet
Affiche dite "du 18 Juin":
Rarissime affiche originale « A Tous les Français », 1er tirage : « Printed for General de Gaulle by A.O. Fallek, London. S.E.1», publiée à Londres, parue dans le Times le 5 août, traduite en anglais, l'affiche ayant été placardée à Londres deux jours plus tôt.
Le texte de cette affiche fut également publié dans le 1er et unique numéro du bulletin officiel des forces françaises libres du 15 août 1940 avec la note: « Texte de l'affiche qui a été placardée sur les murs en Angleterre ». On remarque plusieurs erreurs typographiques : le « d » de «servitude» est un « p » renversé et légèrement décalé vers le haut, « ce jour-là » et «péril» sont sans accent, « français » est sans cédille.
Encadrement tricolore à couleur inversée du type « anglais », bande bleue à l'extérieur.
76 x 51.8 cm.
Bon état (légères usures sur 20 cm sur le côté droit inférieur)

Cette affiche dite du 1er tirage a été imprimée par Achille Olivier Fallek, petit artisan imprimeur à seulement 1000 exemplaires. Cet exemplaire en très bon état de conservation ne présente aucune pliure ni trace de colle, il n’a certainement jamais été collé à l’extérieur. En revanche, il présente des trous de punaise aux quatre coins. Il est permis de croire qu ’il était affiché dans le quartier général du 4, Carlton gardens….
Trois tirages de cette affiche sont réalisés en Angleterre. Le premier est imprimé, fin juillet 1940, par
l’imprimerie A. O. Fallek à 1 000 exemplaires. Un deuxième tirage de 10 000 exemplaires est réalisé par l’imprimerie J. Weiner Ldt en novembre ou décembre 1940, et un troisième par Harrison & Sons Ldt. Les dimensions sont assez modestes 76,5 cm de haut sur 51,5 cm de large environ. Le texte est entouré par erreur des couleurs anglaises : bleu à l’extérieur, rouge à l’intérieur. Il comporte des erreurs typographiques. Une traduction en anglais figure en bas à gauche car cette affiche est placardée dans les rues de Londres à
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue